Since the day that I found out that there was a judgment against me filled by Bank of America, I have been trying to have it reversed. It seems as though everyone feels that I am in the wrong and owe Bank of America $6K. And, now it seems as though this looming judgment may possibly prevent or make it increasingly difficult for me to return to school in the fall. This would be round 3 of attacks that Bank of America has waged on me since October 13th, the first two being a bank garnishment on accounts that I held at Wachovia- opened because Bank of America closed my accounts with them because I was the victim of check fraud, as well as a wage garnishment. I work part time for a bath and beauty giant and make enough money to just survive- all while living with my parents because I would not be able to support myself on my paycheck alone (which got me into this mess in the first place). I am convinced that Bank of America has no respect for the everyday low to moderate income people that it claims to want to help and serve everyday. I am the epitome of low to moderate income ($12k/yr) and a taxpayer, yet and still they assail me with a lawsuit to squeeze water from this rock. I mentioned being a taxpayer because Bank of America was one of the many institutions that received taxpayer money to BAIL them out after THEY entered into faulty investments!!! They OWE me!!!
I am going to make it my mission to be heard and the message that will go forth will be for all of YOU to divest from Bank of America!!! Close your accounts, cash out your CD's and take them elsewhere!!! Bank of America has to learn that it can not treat customers and people that they are indebted to in any sort of manner.
Bank of America I want this case dropped now!!! Don't have me find others that you all have SCREWED over and bring a CLASS action on you!!!
Think I am kidding?!?!? JUST TRY ME.
Monday, February 1, 2010
Monday, January 25, 2010
Failing School systems lead to frustrated retail associates
The school system has failed us as a people! To most this is not new information but as I continue to work in retail the reality of it's failure becomes more apparent.
I find it more and more difficult to grasp that adults (21 and older- but really anyone over the age of 13) has difficulty with simple mathematical calculations. Trust me when I say simple. . . 90% off of $12.00, 75% off of $10.50, 50% off of $15.00 and the list goes on. I am irked more so by the fact that as a retail associate (aka a retail slave) I take money from people that can hardly add up the prices of all of the items they purchase, and people that work in retail are called STUPID.
However, this should not come as a surprise to me when many of the same customers have a difficulty in reading, CAN NOT read, or are just too flat out LAZY to read. And, I am not talking about reading novels, booklets, or even pamphlets I am talking about 10- 15 words or better yet distinguishing between two words that look alike but ONLY one makes sense for the situation (as well as for the fact that there is a PICTURE of the correct one). For, example $4 oils with the purchase of . . ., Juniper vs Jupiter, Orchid vs Orchard. . .
When do we hold our law makers accountable for the decline of education as we know it? Why is okay for teachers to be among the lowest paid professionals when they hold the GREATEST responsibility for our futures. We complained about the idiocy of our past president, George W. Bush, but what we must realize is that OUR CHILDREN are next!!! Be afraid or FIGHT back.
Talk to your school superintendents, your Mayors, Governors, Councilmen. . . Make them EARN those seats, paychecks, and benefits that they now hold. Make them work for OUR futures.
I find it more and more difficult to grasp that adults (21 and older- but really anyone over the age of 13) has difficulty with simple mathematical calculations. Trust me when I say simple. . . 90% off of $12.00, 75% off of $10.50, 50% off of $15.00 and the list goes on. I am irked more so by the fact that as a retail associate (aka a retail slave) I take money from people that can hardly add up the prices of all of the items they purchase, and people that work in retail are called STUPID.
However, this should not come as a surprise to me when many of the same customers have a difficulty in reading, CAN NOT read, or are just too flat out LAZY to read. And, I am not talking about reading novels, booklets, or even pamphlets I am talking about 10- 15 words or better yet distinguishing between two words that look alike but ONLY one makes sense for the situation (as well as for the fact that there is a PICTURE of the correct one). For, example $4 oils with the purchase of . . ., Juniper vs Jupiter, Orchid vs Orchard. . .
When do we hold our law makers accountable for the decline of education as we know it? Why is okay for teachers to be among the lowest paid professionals when they hold the GREATEST responsibility for our futures. We complained about the idiocy of our past president, George W. Bush, but what we must realize is that OUR CHILDREN are next!!! Be afraid or FIGHT back.
Talk to your school superintendents, your Mayors, Governors, Councilmen. . . Make them EARN those seats, paychecks, and benefits that they now hold. Make them work for OUR futures.
Monday, December 21, 2009
Been a long time. . .
I shouldn't have left you without. . .
Some savory bits to munch on in my absence. . .forgive me.
School is over for the semester and I did as I thought I would (an A and a C). I am in the process of registering for 2 more classes, although they are already full and I will most likely be wait-listed :-(
But I guess that is better than not trying at all. . .
Work is. . . Well work is, ummm where do I start?
It is 12/21/2009 and I can not wait for the holiday season to be OVER. I am not usually a SCROOGE but working as a retail slave I have become very bitter in the past two years. I have been subjected to all kinds of low lives that get to treat me as if I am nothing, just because it is assumed that my purpose is to submit myself to the will of the customer.
I am OVER it!!! I am SOOO ready to move on to a field outside of retail and customer service. I am so over an industry that legalizes one sided verbal abuse, all because the customer is supposed to be number one. Where I work it seems as if the rules change based on the customer, I am to do whatever I can to accommodate the customer and avoid confrontation. REALLY?!?!? If I walk into a store and start raising kane because I feel like it, they are not gonna bow down and give me what I want but instead they will most likely call security after asking me to vacate the premises.
I was recently written up because a older embitter black woman customer wanted extra shopping bags to transport her purchase in, I showed her the options we offer (with and with/out cost) and she rejected them and insisted that I give her more shopping bags because she wanted them (she purchased one 8oz bottle of anti-bacterial hand soap, and 2 pairs of shea infused socks. . . for a GRAND total of $12!!!) and told me that if she had separated her purchase she would have received 2 bags anyway. I explained to her that yes, indeed she would have received 2 bags but one would have been the bag that I had previously offered her or I would have asked, for the environment's sake, to put everything into the already over-sized bag that her items were in. She kept going on and I said fine, here's your bag, have a GREAT day!!! She complained to my manager, and then walked up behind me with "Merry Christmas to you too, but you NEED to learn to watch your attitude with customers!". I said ma'am, have a good day and the door is that way!
My manager attempted to cool down and then called me to the back room where he began to YELL at me as if he had lost his ever loving mind! She's a customer, lose the attitude, give then what they want, you need them they don't need you, if you can't do your job quit, this is it. . . and the like. I was sent home to "think about my actions". Come to find out customers and associates on the sales floor as well as people near the service door heard the assault!!!
I am supposed to take that day in and day out and NEVER crack? I think not! When and where do I get to release all of my pent up anger? Why is it that I have to shrug off the rudeness and crudeness of customers because I do not know what they are going through (my favorite line from my manager- because people are apprehensive about spending money because most people don't have it) when they could give 2 shits about what I am going through? Am I not a person as well with a beating heart pumping blood through veins to keep organs functioning? Or does my apron, uniform, name tag, position behind the cash register automatically make me a drone?
I wish that EVERYONE was required to work in the retail/ customer service industry for one year early on in life, so that they would have a greater understanding and respect for those of us that are there right now!
More importantly I wish that I could organize all people that work in customer service/ retail across the board and organize a strike!!! Not only would we not work, but we would refuse to shop!!! We have to hit their pockets!!!
Enough thoughts of anarchy today. . . but stay tuned!!!
Just remember that not everyone that is working in retail is trying to make retail a career. Keep pushing someone that feels they have no way out no options, no say, and they will snap and break. It's gonna come down to you or them. . . One day, sooner or later, that associate that you accused of having an attitude,or not smiling enough, not shucking and jiving enough or that employee that you lost your cool with, is going to be the one that holds YOUR LIFE in the balance (as the cop that pulls you over for a DUI, the doctor in the ER, the public defender in your court case, the coroner that is doing the autopsy. . .) in one way or another!!!
Some savory bits to munch on in my absence. . .forgive me.
School is over for the semester and I did as I thought I would (an A and a C). I am in the process of registering for 2 more classes, although they are already full and I will most likely be wait-listed :-(
But I guess that is better than not trying at all. . .
Work is. . . Well work is, ummm where do I start?
It is 12/21/2009 and I can not wait for the holiday season to be OVER. I am not usually a SCROOGE but working as a retail slave I have become very bitter in the past two years. I have been subjected to all kinds of low lives that get to treat me as if I am nothing, just because it is assumed that my purpose is to submit myself to the will of the customer.
I am OVER it!!! I am SOOO ready to move on to a field outside of retail and customer service. I am so over an industry that legalizes one sided verbal abuse, all because the customer is supposed to be number one. Where I work it seems as if the rules change based on the customer, I am to do whatever I can to accommodate the customer and avoid confrontation. REALLY?!?!? If I walk into a store and start raising kane because I feel like it, they are not gonna bow down and give me what I want but instead they will most likely call security after asking me to vacate the premises.
I was recently written up because a older embitter black woman customer wanted extra shopping bags to transport her purchase in, I showed her the options we offer (with and with/out cost) and she rejected them and insisted that I give her more shopping bags because she wanted them (she purchased one 8oz bottle of anti-bacterial hand soap, and 2 pairs of shea infused socks. . . for a GRAND total of $12!!!) and told me that if she had separated her purchase she would have received 2 bags anyway. I explained to her that yes, indeed she would have received 2 bags but one would have been the bag that I had previously offered her or I would have asked, for the environment's sake, to put everything into the already over-sized bag that her items were in. She kept going on and I said fine, here's your bag, have a GREAT day!!! She complained to my manager, and then walked up behind me with "Merry Christmas to you too, but you NEED to learn to watch your attitude with customers!". I said ma'am, have a good day and the door is that way!
My manager attempted to cool down and then called me to the back room where he began to YELL at me as if he had lost his ever loving mind! She's a customer, lose the attitude, give then what they want, you need them they don't need you, if you can't do your job quit, this is it. . . and the like. I was sent home to "think about my actions". Come to find out customers and associates on the sales floor as well as people near the service door heard the assault!!!
I am supposed to take that day in and day out and NEVER crack? I think not! When and where do I get to release all of my pent up anger? Why is it that I have to shrug off the rudeness and crudeness of customers because I do not know what they are going through (my favorite line from my manager- because people are apprehensive about spending money because most people don't have it) when they could give 2 shits about what I am going through? Am I not a person as well with a beating heart pumping blood through veins to keep organs functioning? Or does my apron, uniform, name tag, position behind the cash register automatically make me a drone?
I wish that EVERYONE was required to work in the retail/ customer service industry for one year early on in life, so that they would have a greater understanding and respect for those of us that are there right now!
More importantly I wish that I could organize all people that work in customer service/ retail across the board and organize a strike!!! Not only would we not work, but we would refuse to shop!!! We have to hit their pockets!!!
Enough thoughts of anarchy today. . . but stay tuned!!!
Just remember that not everyone that is working in retail is trying to make retail a career. Keep pushing someone that feels they have no way out no options, no say, and they will snap and break. It's gonna come down to you or them. . . One day, sooner or later, that associate that you accused of having an attitude,or not smiling enough, not shucking and jiving enough or that employee that you lost your cool with, is going to be the one that holds YOUR LIFE in the balance (as the cop that pulls you over for a DUI, the doctor in the ER, the public defender in your court case, the coroner that is doing the autopsy. . .) in one way or another!!!
Saturday, September 26, 2009
Fall must haves

Although, I hate to see summer go, I do love the fashion trends of fall. I love the rich textures of wool, and cashmere and the deep hues of olive greens, grapes, and mustard yellows. I also love that after a blow out my hair stays straight for more than 2 weeks!!!
This year I love these 5 things the most about fall fashion:
1. Leggings and tights- they are a staple in my wardrobe. I love to wear dresses and tunics and colorful leggings and tights take my plain jane black work dresses from drab to fab in seconds. Plus, fishnets, are given an extra pop when layered over them. They also work out as light control in the midsection smoothing you out in dresses and underneath closer fitting pants. NY and CO leggings.
2. Metallic/Matte nail polish- flat, true color without all the glitter and sparkle. Plain and simple!!! From white to black and golds, silvers, and grays. (your local beauty supplier should have a wide variety of these, just ask, ranging from $1- $12, depending on brand) OPI Espana Collection
LA Girl Nail Polish
3. Knee and Thigh high boots- they are gorgeous and allow me to really draw attention to two of my best assets, my thighs and legs. I have really large calves, probably from all of that soccer playing in NJ, and I have found that softer leather is more forgiving around that area. I have also purchased leather boots enhanced with the elastic siding to make room for my calf muscles (fat, lol) as well. (for mid price range Nine West always has a nice selection of knee high and above boots in leather and suede; a bit higher and trendier would be BCBGirls). Tall Boots @ Nine West
DSW Over the knee boots
4. One shoulder dresses and shirts- why not? What woman does not love feeling young again by teasing the "boys" with a little, tasteful display of flesh. Long or short the shoulders have it!!! See one shoulder dresses.
5. Embellishments- a trend that you see year round, but that really makes a statement in the fall and winter seasons. Winter whites jazzed up with gold buttons or purple embroidery, bland tees are transformed into statement pieces with just a splash or hardware. You can take a perfectly blah black work dress and spice it up with a great studded belt and and "bead- dazzled" cardi and rock the night away!!! Check out the pictured belt.
This is not a list of rules... these are MY exceptions!!!
Find your own fun or borrow some of mine....
But as always... Happy Shopping!!!
Tuesday, August 18, 2009
Fall Fashion 2009!!!

So Fall is right around the corner and I have the dish for you. Do not be left out this Fall/Winter wearing last season or last year's fashions! I did some in mall research as well as magazine surfing to find out what is going to be the rave this Fall and here are my top 10:
1. The 80's are back and here to stay this Fall!!! Look out for the bold and optimistic statements that made this decade so unique. I am talking velvet bustiers, poufy mini-dresses, neon hues and stirrup leggings... Oh my!!! So just go back to your favorite 80's movie find the lead and mimic their style with a modern twist, do not get lost in the decade!!!
2. Style embellishment... it is a continuing trend from the spring/ summer. Bling out your clothing and accessories to give every outfit a bit of uniqueness and that extra umph! We will see an increase in hardware adorned gloves, bags, shoes and other accessories this season as well as an increase in hardware adorned layering items (vests, tanks...). Although it is the current trend, do not over do it or you will look like a chump.
3. Knee high, Over the knee, and Thigh high boots... The sky is the limit this Fall when it comes to the height of your boots, and the higher the better!!! Look for boots in GENUINE leather in shades such as olive greens, grays, creams/neutrals or Suedes in black, brown, gray, maroon, or just plain PRETTY. Shearling/ wool lined boots will also be key this season. AVOID- chunky heels and high sheen patent finishes if you do not want to be confused with your local "Ladies of the Night".
4. Capes, caplets, and cloaks... Will be seen all throughout the Fall season as a practical layering item that is completely fashionable. From cropped to ankle length, in all the colors and fibers of Fall.
5. Ponchos... are back with a vengeance. Similar to capes and caplets, but allow for a less formal layering item great with everything from jeans to skirts.
6. See through clothing- Be a tease by showing off what your mama gave you while still leaving something to the imagination, but not too much!
7. One Shoulder- Dresses and shirts are everywhere this fall. With and without frill and ruffles, embellished or stand alone these make a statement, by showing a little skin without being overly revealing.
8. Military inspired- Jackets, vests, hats. Be well tailored without having to go through boot camp. Often seen in khaki, navy blue, army green, browns, and blacks with brass, silver, and golden buttons and embellishments.
9. Metallics- Night and Day!!! Glitz and shine is no longer just for the night time, especially when it starts to get darker earlier. So, whip out your golds, silvers, coppers, pewters... all day ling and shine on.
10. Pops of Gold- Brighten up this fall/winter when paired with any fall color and trend.
AVOID AVOID AVOID-- DOUBLE DENIM!!!! It's just not sexy!!!
Wednesday, August 12, 2009
CoastalScents.com
So my first order from Coastal Scents arrived today and I am very happy. I placed my order Friday morning, it shipped Saturday and arrived on Tuesday, that is great turn around time. Shipping was reasonable ($1.56) and all my products arrived in tip top shape. I ordered 4 Hot pots(individual eye shadow) and a 4 plate palette. The payoff is great when used with a primer and a base and the color is long lasting. I was most impressed by my S13 pot which is a shimmery purple with pink undertones, next I like the S06 pot, it is not a dupe (fake out double) of MAC's Plum Dressing, but it is still really pretty and I have worn it almost everyday since it has arrived. S06 is a shimmery rose color that looks really great with nude or champagne colors like wood winked (MAC). My least favorite thus far has been the M13 which is a matte bubblegum pink. It lacks intensity no matter how much you pack on and what type of brush you use. I am going to to attempt tp use it as a blush... we will see how that goes. S20 is a slightly shimmery almost neon purple which I LUV!!! It is intense and looks great in a smokey eye with deep grapes such as Fertile (MAC) or blues like clarity (MAC). Exciting.
Overall I was really satisfied with my colors.
The palette is really cute as well. It has a matte black finish with no logo and the mirror is large enough for application. The pan itself is magnetic and there is a tiny pin well so that you can pop out one pot and replace it, that way you can have your fave 4 colors with you at all times. My only gripe is that it came with a double ended sponge applicator...ugh!!! A nice mini all over shader brush would have been perfect, but that's just me.
So ladies place your orders and start your make up adventure with coastal scents!!!
Until next time...
FYI... I have heard some good and bad things about the multi colored palettes so be cautious... this review was only for the hot pots.
Overall I was really satisfied with my colors.
The palette is really cute as well. It has a matte black finish with no logo and the mirror is large enough for application. The pan itself is magnetic and there is a tiny pin well so that you can pop out one pot and replace it, that way you can have your fave 4 colors with you at all times. My only gripe is that it came with a double ended sponge applicator...ugh!!! A nice mini all over shader brush would have been perfect, but that's just me.
So ladies place your orders and start your make up adventure with coastal scents!!!
Until next time...
FYI... I have heard some good and bad things about the multi colored palettes so be cautious... this review was only for the hot pots.
Saturday, August 8, 2009
How to's from Gurus!!!
Yes, I am a Face booker, My Spacer, and You Tuber, but why not. It is just like saying that I have a Costco (which I do), Kroger, Safeway, Harris Teeter, or CVS card (which I do). I say this because I use these social networking vehicles as they were intended... to network socially, play games, and learn how to. I do not use these sites as my personal eHarmony, or Chemistry.com's, because honestly you have better luck out on the street jogging, grocery shopping, at the mall, a upscale bar/lounge... to meet someone worthwhile. Anyway, so on YouTube.com one of my BFF's has opened my eyes completely to the world of how to's, especially in the make up categories. These people are AWESOME, at least most of them, they take you step by step though the processes to complete a certain look ( ie: The Smokey Eye). There are random people who feel that they have skills in an area and want to share, bless their hearts and then there are REAL supernaturally talented make up artists (MUAs), oh, and of course those talented people in between that just want to help others look great too (gotta love 'em). Type in what you need help or instruction on and they then check out some videos, once you find someone(s) you love or really trust, subscribe to their pages and take it all in. From start to finish they will guide you so that you come out looking like a pro!!!
Until next time...
Until next time...
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
